Reviews of Chuzenjiko/Okunikko Tochigi Hotel Kojoen - JAPANiCAN.com

Hotel Kojoen ホテル湖上苑

Reviews of Hotel Kojoen

Total Score

4.5Based on 156 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.3 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.5

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Jane

Female / 40-49 / China

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Nov 2017 Stayed 17 Nov 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Free Glass of Beer Plan


Dated samll hotel. Nice lake view room, but no sound-proof at all. It's shown on Ad that Nov is the season for maple leaf, unfortunately, mid of Nov is already too late. It took 28 bus stops from the JR station. Hot spring is indeed samll. Max. 4 people indoor and outdoor in total. But still recommend to visit in the right season. Will come back

Hon Yi

Male / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Oct 2017 Stayed 18 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Free Glass of Beer Plan


Food and service was top notch, practically flawless. Hotel has nice rustic feel, and amazing lake view. Western style rooms are effectively traditional japanese rooms, but with beds added. Do note that there are no lifts, so if your room is on the second floor, be prepared to carry the luggage upstairs carefully.

Oscar

Male / 20-29 / U.S.A.

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Sep 2017 Stayed 12 Sep 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Had a great stay at Hotel Kojeon. The view was spectacular and staff were very polite and helpful. Dinner was delicious!

Erikku

Male / 50-59 / France

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 10 Aug 2017 Stayed 24 Jul 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Choice of Chilled Sake Set Plan


The best in term of Quality as regards to Cost ! Personnal is warful therefore you feel somehow as at Home
The lake view is just as marvelous and therefore very restful

France

Male / 50-59 / France

Couple

3.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 May 2017 Stayed 27 May 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room

Viola952

Female / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Sep 2016


Clean room, facing beautiful lake. it is just few minutes walk from bus stop 26 (taking bus from Nikko to yumoto) - good location. 10 mins walk to waterfall. Food served at the hotel is delicious and of good quality.

Green

Female / Under 20 / Japan

Other

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2016


My mother had come to visit me (I live in Tokyo) and I wanted to take her to Nikko for the weekend. I couldn't have chosen a nicer place. Our room was on the first floor with a sliding door looking out on the lake. The room was very clean and well maintained. The included meals were absolutely delicious; a very nice blend of traditional Japanese meal and some French cooking techniques. Several local ingredients were included such as locally caught fish, yuba and mushrooms. The ladies who ran the inn were very kind and made a good effort to speak some English with us. The bath was a little small, but it's not a large inn so that's to be expected. The only downside is that the outdoor bath looks directly out onto the lake without much screening, so someone who is self conscious might not be entirely comfortable. Overall we had a lovely stay and I would absolutely stay there again.

PTL

Female / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Apr 2016


Excellent place, very friendly staff. Breakfast was great. Room was fantastic with view of the lake.

allakefak

Male / Under 20 / Japan

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 28 Mar 2016


Loved our stay at Kojoen. Such a beautiful location right on Lake Chuzenji. We had Dinner and breakfast there and both were delicious. The staff is very friendly, too.

Rani

Male / 50-59 / Israel

Couple

3.5
Room : 1.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 2.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 10 Oct 2015


Accept for the staff the place is poor. It is not maintained at all. We paid a price of a five star hotel and got a 2 star hotel. The place has potential as the location is amazing however we were so disappointed that we canceled the second night. I would not recommend this location to anyone.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: