Notice

Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from June 27 (Wed) 20:00 - June 28 (Thu) 8:00 (JST). We apologize for the inconvenience.

  

Reviews of Chuzenjiko/Okunikko Tochigi Hotel Kojoen - JAPANiCAN.com

Hotel Kojoen ホテル湖上苑

Reviews of Hotel Kojoen

Total Score

4.6Based on 174 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.4 Service : 4.8
Food : 4.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.1
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.5

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Peggy

Ms. / 30-39 / New Zealand

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Jun 2018 Stayed 02 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


I enjoy my stay at this inn very much. The location is second to none - you can’t get much closer to the lake. It is indeed as its name - inn above the lake. I took some photos literally when I was on my bed. Amazing.

The set dinner and breakfast are great too. Not the traditional Japanese style but using it as the base blending in a bit western taste. After all you are staying in the old ambassador residency.

Great service too. I met Ikuey (i must spell it wrong though), who has been extremely helpful and friendly. In fact, everyone works there is the same. Located not too far from the bus station, nice walking distance. Also suitable as a starting point for morning run. We ran to the parking lot on the other side of the lake, and found it very relaxing and easy and flat.

The place is a bit old but with taste. It has a private bath too l, great for people like me who is still a bit shy to share the bath with strangers.

Strongly recommended.

jaco

Mr. / 50-59 / Germany

Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 19 Mar 2018 Stayed 13 Mar 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Free Glass of Beer Plan


Very nice location ran by very friendly japanese family. A beautiful view on the lake from our room. We enjoyed also the delicious food.

Marushka

Ms. / 20-29 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 Jan 2018 Stayed 19 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Free Glass of Beer Plan


Très bel hôtel assez cosy finalement il ne se compose pas de beaucoup de chambre. La vue est vraiment belle, les chambres atypiques et le personnel très serviable et agréable. Le bain privé est gratuit et c'est un réel avantage car j'ai des tatouages mais j'ai malgré tout pu profiter du bain publique car il n'y avait personne. Le repas et le petit déjeuner étaient très bons. Le bus arrive juste à côté, vraiment rien à redire, j'ai adoré !

Jane

Ms. / 40-49 / China

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Nov 2017 Stayed 17 Nov 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Free Glass of Beer Plan


Dated samll hotel. Nice lake view room, but no sound-proof at all. It's shown on Ad that Nov is the season for maple leaf, unfortunately, mid of Nov is already too late. It took 28 bus stops from the JR station. Hot spring is indeed samll. Max. 4 people indoor and outdoor in total. But still recommend to visit in the right season. Will come back

Hon Yi

Mr. / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Oct 2017 Stayed 18 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Free Glass of Beer Plan


Food and service was top notch, practically flawless. Hotel has nice rustic feel, and amazing lake view. Western style rooms are effectively traditional japanese rooms, but with beds added. Do note that there are no lifts, so if your room is on the second floor, be prepared to carry the luggage upstairs carefully.

Oscar

Mr. / 20-29 / U.S.A.

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Sep 2017 Stayed 12 Sep 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Had a great stay at Hotel Kojeon. The view was spectacular and staff were very polite and helpful. Dinner was delicious!

Erikku

Mr. / 50-59 / France

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 10 Aug 2017 Stayed 24 Jul 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Choice of Chilled Sake Set Plan


The best in term of Quality as regards to Cost ! Personnal is warful therefore you feel somehow as at Home
The lake view is just as marvelous and therefore very restful

France

Mr. / 50-59 / France

Couple

3.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 May 2017 Stayed 27 May 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room

Viola952

Ms. / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Sep 2016


Clean room, facing beautiful lake. it is just few minutes walk from bus stop 26 (taking bus from Nikko to yumoto) - good location. 10 mins walk to waterfall. Food served at the hotel is delicious and of good quality.

Green

Ms. / Under 20 / Japan

Other

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 25 Apr 2016


My mother had come to visit me (I live in Tokyo) and I wanted to take her to Nikko for the weekend. I couldn't have chosen a nicer place. Our room was on the first floor with a sliding door looking out on the lake. The room was very clean and well maintained. The included meals were absolutely delicious; a very nice blend of traditional Japanese meal and some French cooking techniques. Several local ingredients were included such as locally caught fish, yuba and mushrooms. The ladies who ran the inn were very kind and made a good effort to speak some English with us. The bath was a little small, but it's not a large inn so that's to be expected. The only downside is that the outdoor bath looks directly out onto the lake without much screening, so someone who is self conscious might not be entirely comfortable. Overall we had a lovely stay and I would absolutely stay there again.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: