Reviews of Nikko/Kirifuri Kogen Tochigi Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi - JAPANiCAN.com

Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi 小槌の宿鶴亀大吉

Reviews of Kozuchi no Yado Tsurukame Daikichi

Total Score

4.6Based on 79 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.6 Service : 4.6
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.3
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.6

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

YF

Female / Under 20 / Singapore

Friends

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 13 Apr 2017 Stayed 03 Apr 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Overall a wonderful experience for the 2-night stay!
It is good that Ryokan provides shuttle service.
And we loved the room, the Kaiseki dinner, just pity that we did not get a Japanese tatami room for dinner. I will request for it beforehand the next time.
Indoor and outdoor public onsens are good enough for us, especially with all the amenities provided.
It is so close to Toshogu Shrine, just cross the road and find a staircase in the carpark and you arrive at the entrance.
This info can be more clearly stated on the web or in the room.

We will definitely recommend to our friends!

bobo

Female / Under 20 / Thailand

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Feb 2017 Stayed 11 Feb 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


very good services and hospitality.
recommended!!!

Choupi

Female / 20-29 / Japan

Couple

4.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Jan 2017 Stayed 14 Jan 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Charcoal Grilled Kaiseki Course Dinner


The location is perfect, close to the temples and the famous bridge. The staff is very friendly, the food was very good and the quantities were generous. The private hot spring on the terrasse is great if you can afford. Only thing is that the room is a little bit old, it should be renovated to give it a fresher look and feel (some scratches on the walls, paints, etc). The yakuta were also a bit old. But the overall experience was good! Nice Japanese experience!

violaswamp

Male / 60+ / U.S.A.

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 Nov 2016 Stayed 02 Nov 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This small ryokan was good in every way. The open-air bath upstairs is very nice, the food and service were excellent. It was located near spots we wanted to see, but is a bit of a distance from the train station. We would stay here again and we would request mountain view again.

Aikim

Female / 20-29 / Malaysia

Family with Older Children

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 15 Jul 2016


The hotel is clean and meals are good, closely located to the heritage sites. I asked JapanIcan for some special arrangements for my mum's birthday and was actually looking forward to the special photo that they say hotel staff would provide, but was quite disappointed to find out later that it was separately chargeable. Hope JAPANICAN staff can be more clear on any charges for special arrangements like these.

PS

Female / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 May 2016


excellent food in ryokan (portion is just right), great food selection nearby. Within walking distance to shinkyo bridge, futarasan shrine and toshogu shrine.

Fara

Female / 50-59 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Apr 2016


We really enjoyed spending our last two nights in Japan in this ryokan. Staff was very polite and service was excellent. Our room was bright and spacious and overlooked the mountain and the river. The onsen was very pleasant too, with a very relaxing inside and outside bath for both men and women. Breakfasts and dinners were served in a private dining room and the quality of food was very good. Little English was spoken and our Japanese is non-existent, so more often than not we were not sure of what exactly we were eating, but this was not a problem. Location was perfect, just at a short walking distance from the shrines and temples. The train station is quite far, but the ryokan offers a very convenient free shuttle service. Wifi is available in the reception area and is very fast.

Bever

Male / 30-39 / Thailand

Group

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 07 Mar 2016


Very nice hotel. I love hotel serviced

Andy

Male / 40-49 / Singapore

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Mar 2016


1. I have selected the room with private bath. the room is big and spacious. The view from the private bath is facing the river. During the night, you can easily fall asleep with the natural sound of the flowing river.
2. Food is awesome. Although there are many small dishes, but actually it will be very filling. Both Dinner and Breakfast is good.
3. Service is good. They can pick you up at the train station. They will even give you a call when your meal is ready to serve. They can speak English too.
4. Location is accessible to all the heritage temple in Nikko. It is also walking distance to the Bake-Jizo : Stone Statues, Kanmangafuchi Abyss, and Shinkyo Bridge. There is also bus stop nearby if you want to go to Akechidaira, Kegon Waterfall, Ryuzu waterfall or Yumoto-onsen
5. Only disadvantage is there is no Wifi in the room. You have to go to the lobby to access to the free Wifi.

Jim

Male / 60+ / U.S.A.

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 19 Feb 2016


For those who want a traditional Japanese experience. Sleeping on floor mats is probably not for everyone. The food was very good and also very different. The menu is set by the kitchen and the staff has limited English. Would not recommend for picky, restricted eaters.
For me and my wife, this was a very pleasant cultural experience. Nikko and the surrounding area is wonderful!

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: