Notice

Due to the effects of Typhoon No. 19, customer service lines are very busy, and responses to inquiries may take longer than usual. We apologize for the inconvenience.


Tokinoniwa 湯宿季の庭

Reviews of Tokinoniwa

Total Score

4.3Based on 74 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.5 Service : 4.5
Food : 4.1 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

duckweed

Ms. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Other

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Feb 2019 Stayed 03 Feb 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


The shuttle bus services provided by the hotel is super. You can go to and fro the heart of the Onsen town easily by the shuttle bus provided. But the 3 private Onsens available in the hotel for use by all guests are always full. You have to either queue for long or wake up very early (say 6am) the next day if you want to try all 3 onsens. For the in-room open onsens, it is super but you have to remember to cover it up when not using, in order to keep the water hot enough for next use. Otherwise, you have to refill the tank again. The hand coffee grinder with coffee beans available in-room for free consumption is super too.

Mimi

Ms. / 40-49 / Thailand

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 08 Oct 2018 Stayed 03 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Really love this ryokan. Should stay more than 1 day. Everything is perfect here. I love the room, the food, and the open air bath in the room especially when you book the room with japanican.com, everything is correct as you want.

JT

Mr. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Family with Young Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 29 Dec 2017 Stayed 25 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Shuttle bus to and from Karuizawa is very convenient. Shuttle bus between hotel and Yutabake is also provided. Hotel is modern yet traditional. Good hospitality. Food is alright but could be better.

bjfast

Mr. / 60+ / Canada

Family with Older Children

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 07 Mar 2017


Modern Ryokan with Extras

Vivian

Ms. / 20-29 / Australia

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 11 Dec 2016


It was a very traditional ryokan and had all the facilities and necessities that were required for our stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful, with some being fluent in English. The Japanese-style room was great, especially with the outdoor bath. We managed to get a room with a good view, taking a onsen bath while it was snowing. There were many types of public onsen baths available which were gender separated and some available for private use. The food provided was amazing and the serving size was very generous. With many variations of food and availability of western or japanese styled breakfast, we got a good feed. Overall, it was a very good get-away experience in Japan.

CJU

Ms. / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

3.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 02 May 2016

Momofish

Ms. / 40-49 / Singapore

Family with Young Children

3.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 28 Feb 2016


Very nice ryokan experience especially the outdoor onsen in our room. It was great for my 4yo daughter who tried onsen for the first time and love it so much. The 3 private onsen for family is great too with beautiful view. Having the shuttle bus helps a lot. The staff are very helpful and smiley. This ryokan stay was the highlight of our trip

sue

Ms. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Jan 2016


The staff helping registration is very helpful and is able to communicate in fluent English. The outdoor wooden bathtub with natural hot spring water inside our room is fabulous.

Angel Cham

Ms. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Married Couple

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Dec 2015


Our first time in Kusatsu, but had visited many onsens across Japan, Tokinoniwa really impressed us: the hot spring "water" itself and different kinds of pools within the onsen. The food was fair, given the price charged (usually more dedicate in other onsens). Definitely, we will be back for wonderful onsen!

Singapore

Family with Young Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Feb 2013

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: