Notice
Due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 31 December 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 3 January 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Harataki 原瀧

Reviews of Harataki

Total Score

4.6Based on 11 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.8
Location : 4.5 Access : 4.0

katinae

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 15 Jun 2019 Stayed 16 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Private Reservable Bath Session Plan


Honeymoon trip to Japan. Absolutely beautiful location. Very friendly and helpful staff, limited English but had a voice translator that worked great. Room was traditional and comfortable and staff even brought up our luggage and made up the beds during our private hot spring time. Private hot spring was super relaxing next to the waterfall and would recommend for couples. Dinner on the waterfall was spectacular multi course meal with a fantastic atmosphere. Warning for Americans, it is a very traditional style of food but highly recommend giving everything at least a try. Women can rent a nicer yukata and there are multiple colors, patterns, and sizes. Take a taxi from the train station, navigating the bus and shuttle without speaking Japanese is a little tricky, save yourself the hassle. By far our favorite place we stayed in Japan and would highly recommend to other couples or those looking to have a relaxing time outside of the big cities.

KatWarner

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Nov 2018 Stayed 06 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Private Reservable Bath Session Plan


I wish I could give more than five stars! This place was amazing, only a five minute walk from the bus stop and the view was gorgeous. The meals proavided were phenomenal, traditional style Japanese dinner/breakfast with a buffet along with the pre served seasonal meal. The outdoor bath had an amazing view of the waterfall and all around experience was just out of this world. Already putting this on my list for when we go back, next time we know to spend more than one night!

eve

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 27 Oct 2018 Stayed 24 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


The food here was great. They have a little spread on your table when they seat you and it's really well presented and delicious. There's also the buffet there which was also delicious. The onsen was clean and relaxing and the outside onsen was beautiful but scalding to my weak gaijin skin so I barely went in there. All the staff were great and kind and welcoming. I spoke some bare minimum Japanese and they were able to understand some English so we managed to get the point across usually. The rooms were clean and had a nice Japanese feel with the futon and the tatami mat. All in all would reccomend.

tsubaki

Ms. / 20-29 / France

Friends

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Sep 2018 Stayed 17 Sep 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Private Reservable Bath Session Plan


Wonderful experience, the food was exquisite and the service impeccable. The ryokan is only located 10mn from the Higashiyama onsen bus station, and getting there from Aizu Wakamatsu eki is pretty straight forward. I highly recommend the private baths, though ths open air bath is also very nice. Only thing I regret is not dining in the kawadoko restaurant - there was 0 information about it on japanican and it turns out reservations are necessary (and at an extra cost). Overall, great stay and I cannot recommend it enough!

RicJur

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Jul 2018 Stayed 01 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Stayed for 6 days in a room that had its own open air bath! The service, food, location, amenities was excellent! Going out and visiting the town was the best. I through that I was going to be trapped at the ryokan. Granted they had things to do in and around the ryokan. But there was a local bus rout that was just a few minutes away from the ryokan. Going into the city was great! Meeting the locals and seeing sites was fantastic. Would visit again.

Peanut Butter

Ms. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 12 Feb 2018 Stayed 08 Feb 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan

Top

Mr. / 30-39 / Thailand

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 26 Oct 2017


Great atmosphere, service and food

Matt L

Mr. / 30-39 / Canada

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 17 Apr 2017


This hotel was the best part of our honeymoon. We enjoyed the traditional Japanese style room, the food was incredible and the private baths were gorgeous. I highly suggest taking a taxi from the train station. It's about 2000 yen, but it's much easier than navigating the public transit.

Kristin

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Solo Traveler

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 Jan 2017


This onsen was beautiful, I would highly suggest! The staff was so kind and helpful, even despite the language barrier. The restaurant used an iPad and google translate for conversations. (Thanks you guys! if you read this review) The food, accommodation, and baths were very authentic, an overall great experience for the price. I recommend this for a romantic getaway as well.

LL

Mr. / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Married Couple

2.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 08 May 2018 Stayed 25 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan 附1次包租觀望風呂(50分鐘)方案

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: