Reviews of Hakkoda Aomori Sukayu Onsen Ryokan - JAPANiCAN.com

Sukayu Onsen Ryokan 酸ケ湯温泉旅館

Reviews of Sukayu Onsen Ryokan

Total Score

4.2Based on 60 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 3.9 Service : 4.3
Food : 4.2 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.5
Location : 4.3 Access : 3.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Isabel

Female / 30-39 / Spain

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Nov 2017 Stayed 30 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


We enjoy every minute of our stay! However, we were surprised that the baths were not as mixed as expected, i was the only female during the mixed bath times. Even so, we highly recomend this ryokan. Nice food, nice room, outstanding location.

Celeste

Female / 50-59 / Singapore

Solo Traveler

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : -
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 19 Nov 2017 Stayed 28 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Very nice traditional Japanese ryokan with good service and food. Very easily accessible by buses from Aomori Staton.

A Singaporean

Female / 50-59 / Singapore

Friends

3.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 21 Oct 2017 Stayed 14 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan

Alex&B

Male / 40-49 / Japan

Couple

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Aug 2017 Stayed 15 Aug 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room

Chiman Chan

Female / 30-39 / Hong Kong

Couple

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 16 Jul 2017 Stayed 13 Jul 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


The room is bigger than I thought. It was an experience to try mixed bath in the ryokan with such long history. It would be great if they also have ourdoor pool. There is free shuttle service from/to ryokan as well as JR bus connecting with Aomori station and other destinations along the gorge.

lebuttercup

Female / 40-49 / U.S.A.

Married Couple

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Jan 2017 Stayed 05 Jan 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


One of the most traditional & memorable onsen experience i've had so far in Japan, and and i've been to several ryokans. the food is fair, nothing to write home about. there's a big hall for breakfast buffet, and dinner is better served individually. it's a bit cold in the hallways in the winter, and i wish they had a lounge to hang out when you're snowed in, and don' t want to be in your room all day. the facility is well served to the Japanese living there, so it's the real deal, no whistles or bells, but perfect if you're looking for a peaceful secluded sanctuary for peace & quiet.

G K

Female / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

3.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2016 Stayed 10 Dec 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This is a rather isolated onsen in Aomori. There is a free shuttle that takes you from Aomori city to Sukayu Onsen twice a day. I was there only recently in winter and it was snowing heavily. The scenery is beautiful and quiet. Definitely a great getaway from city life.

Chris

Male / Under 20 / Japan

Friends

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 18 Jul 2016


This ryokan was in a good location - surrounded by beautiful scenery. Close to Lake Towada and Mt. Hakkoda. The onsen in this ryokan was amazing - it was very large and mixed gendered. The service was excellent and the food delicious (but traditional styled!).

stuart & cherie

Male / Under 20 / Australia

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Dec 2015


sukayu is a large & grand rambling hotel; full of charm & the kind hospitality of an older time. the onsen is unique. nestled on the side of the Hakkoda mountains, there are many striking trails to hike. being blanketed in thick soft snow completed a picturesque scene that certainly leaves us wanting to return

Traveller

Male / 50-59 / Singapore

Friends

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2015


I stayed here because of climbing of Mt Hakkoda. Took a cable car and hiked all the way down to the onsen. The hike is excellent. The onsen is traditional setting, onsen bath is big, service is good. Food is reasonable. Access is easy, either take a JR bus from Aomori (about 1 hr) or take the complimentary hotel shuttle service.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: