Notice
Due to system maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 0:00 - 7:00 JST on Dec. 16 (Thurs).
Beginning from Dec. 16, 2019 (JST), JAPANiCAN.com will no longer support older versions of certain browsers and operating systems. Click here for more details. Also, due to scheduled maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable from 21:30 Dec. 31, 2019 (Tues) to 13:00 Jan. 3, 2020 (Fri) (JST). For more information click here.

Kohantei 絶景の湯宿洞爺湖畔亭

Reviews of Kohantei

Total Score

3.9Based on 365 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 3.8 Service : 3.8
Food : 3.4 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.4 Access : 4.0

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Gimm

Ms. / 40-49 / Thailand

Family with Older Children

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Mar 2019 Stayed 24 Mar 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan

Maltha

Ms. / 20-29 / Indonesia

Family with Older Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Jan 2019 Stayed 16 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Kohantei’s outdoor onsen is definitely superb with a direct view to the lake. The room is also really clean and spacious. What we think to be the most helpful too is the fact we have a shuttle bus from the airport and to Sapporo station. We really appreciate the easy access provided.

so_deska

Mr. / 30-39 / South Korea

Couple

3.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 21 Jul 2018 Stayed 19 Jul 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


It was full of Chinese tourists. Noisy and annoying

CK

Mr. / 50-59 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

3.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 08 Jul 2018 Stayed 25 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Rooms were small, typical of most Japanese hotels. Main complaint was the quality of the meals. For the price paid, the buffet was one of the worst I have experienced. Tempura offerings had no seafood but vegetables. The beef cut was very chewy and meat dishes were really lacking. Even the jelly is so diluted that the pink jelly was hardly pinkish,more to colorless.

CM

Mr. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Couple

3.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 23 Jun 2018 Stayed 21 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Other


The room was shabby especially the toilet. The hanging bar inside the wardrobe was dusty. It seemed that no one had cleansed it for a long time. The food of the dinner and breakfast buffets were just a pile of edible stuff.

B

Mr. / Under 20 / Thailand

Couple

2.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 1.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 06 May 2018 Stayed 04 May 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Overall is disappointing. Location and staff were great but what we do not like are it is so crowd with number of people. Poor quality of buffet for both breakfast and dinner and atmosphere like you are eating in Canteen with hundred of people. Hot bath is too small for number of people. And it is expensive compare to what you pay for. Many others place offer much more better with similar price e.g. some hotels in Shikotsu Lake (recommended).

Wonderful holiday at Lake Toya

Ms. / 30-39 / Thailand

Solo Traveler

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 12 Feb 2018


I had such a wonderful stay at Lake Toya. The room is a bit outdated but the amazing view of Lake Toya can cover for that. The dinner and breakfast buffet is very good. A wide selection of food and taste great. Onsen here…is out of this world….the best onsen view with Lake Toya and Mt. Yotei!! Its so peaceful and so zen!! This is one place that i will 100% return for sure!!

deenisey

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Group

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Dec 2017 Stayed 18 Dec 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese/Western-style room


We had the Japanese/western room for 4 pax. It had a lovely view of the lake. We stayed at this hotel 2 years ago and there has been great improvement; there's free WiFi throughout the hotel (there used to be no wifi) and the staff were able to converse in English much fluently.
Only con of the stay was, there used to be a back door which leads straight to the lake. They locked the door in the winter hence we had to walk around the hotel on the slippery grounds to get to the lake.

Flower

Ms. / 60+ / Singapore

Couple

4.2
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 30 Oct 2017


Beautiful secenery and the Onsen is fantastic!!! This hotel is ok to stay for few days! Accomodating more for big groups!
What a beautiful country!!!

jaryl

Mr. / 30-39 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Oct 2017


the service staff were nice, i guess it’s because they have been receiving too many chinese tourist and my family and i look like china chinese and therefore their service towards us was less hospitable. i don’t blame them since they receive hordes of tour groups from china and tour groups are usually obnoxious, not to mention those from china. the hotel is clean, room was bigger than what i would imagine after reading so many reviews online. the outdoor onsen has a good view of the lake, we could watch fireworks from the hotel lobby. food was ok, mix of japanese and some western selection. overall it was an enjoyable stay and i’ll recommend it. just dont time your arrival and other activities with the tour groups, otherwise i’ll imagine your experience would be horrid.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: