Ryotei Hanayura 旅亭花ゆら

Reviews of Ryotei Hanayura

Total Score

4.6Based on 405 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.7 Service : 4.7
Food : 4.6 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.6 Access : 4.5

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

MrZ

Mr. / 20-29 / United States of America

Group

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Aug 2019 Stayed 01 Aug 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


When we reached the hotel we were greeted by the staff and acquainted with our room. Despite our booking stating that it was a smoking room, the room had no hint of smoke smell and was clean with great amenities. Our dinner was in the main dining area on the first floor. There are private rooms in the basement but we did not get assigned to those arrangements. I think this depended on several factors, such as your time of booking, luck, a local, etc... . Despite buying the more expensive meal option, I think all guests had the same kaiseki meal. The service in the main room started off very attentive but then it got really busy and our wait staff was overwhelmed and flustered by the heavy workload, which was to be expected but detracted slightly from the experience.

Temandy

Mr. / 30-39 / Singapore

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Jun 2019 Stayed 10 Jun 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Our second time here and Hanayura never fails to impress. The kaiseki dinner was spectacular and well presented and the breakfast even more impressive. You usually get just a set with small dishes, grilled fish and tofu for a ryokan breakfast but they topped it up with a buffet of sashimi, pastries and fresh fruit ( the melon was especially good ). Will definitely stay again, I have stayed in more than 10 other ryokans in Japan and this remains one of my top choices.

LJ

Mr. / 30-39 / United States of America

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 21 May 2019 Stayed 17 May 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [Quality Over Quantity] Delicious Light Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


Fantastic ryokan! Food was amazing and I highly recommend choosing a room with a private onsen bath.

JNJ8828

Mr. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Friends

4.7
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 22 Jan 2019 Stayed 13 Jan 2019 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


Room consider over price!
Dinner didn't serve at Private Room as like others Ryokan!
Friendly Staff with English Speaking!
Opposite Ryokan is Bus Stop to JR Station. Great location.
Waling Distance to 地獄谷

Fran

Ms. / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 04 Dec 2018 Stayed 30 Nov 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [Quality Over Quantity] Delicious Light Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


The place is very beautiful. Wish we stayed more than one day

Kokwei

Mr. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Married Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Oct 2018 Stayed 18 Oct 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Seasonal Kaiseki Course Meal Prepared with Seasonal Ingredients Plan


Excellent in overall!

Brenda

Ms. / 20-29 / Malaysia

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Aug 2018 Stayed 30 Jul 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Seasonal Kaiseki Course Meal Prepared with Seasonal Ingredients Plan


The stay here was great!!! Everything deserve a 5 stars. Highly recommend and would definitely return!

Jess

Ms. / 30-39 / United States of America

Married Couple

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 May 2018 Stayed 25 Apr 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Seasonal Kaiseki Course Meal Prepared with Seasonal Ingredients Plan


We enjoyed the room, however we were a bit annoyed to realize that the kaiseki meal would not be prepared in our room. We tried to ask for the kaiseki but the front desk refused to let us request this and we didn't understand why they couldn't. I was reading other reviews and saw someone else's review that they only do in-room kaiseki's for floors 1 to 5. We were on floor 6 :( Regardless we were given a private room in their dining room downstairs which was still a nice experience. Staff was friendly and tried their best to explain our complicated meals in English. The food the first night was definitely underwhelming but the 2nd night dinner was 10 times better. If you do go, stay at least 2 nights as the meals change each night...maybe night 3 will be even better? Breakfast was also amazing...they had a build your own sashimi bowl!

SD

Mr. / 50-59 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 07 Nov 2017


This is one of the best ryokan we've ever stayed so far! Luxurious facility with fantastic food and view. In room bath was great, filled with sulphur hot spring. The public bath, especially the open bath was so good and relaxing. The water source makes a lot of difference. The place is quiet and exclusive. We can feel it throughout our stay, from the public onsen to private dinner and breakfast. We really enjoyed our stay here.

Punyii

Ms. / 20-29 / Thailand

Other

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2017


Room with onsen open air is really nice. Room is big, have much space, comfortable and nice view. Onsen open air is so wonderful, we're really relax with it. Japanese style room with comfortable futon bed.
Food was great Light Kaiseki course menu and breakfast. Tasted delicious and it's have a lot of details. Something was tasted weird but coz we never eat it before :)
Reception can speak English, good communicate. Waitress is so nice always smile and polite. I hope she can speak better in english so we can communicate with her cearly. Or maybe the hotel should have list menu in english for forigner.
Very good service from them. Want to go back again! :)

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: