Sounkyo Onsen Choyo Resort Hotel 層雲峡温泉朝陽リゾートホテル

Reviews of Sounkyo Onsen Choyo Resort Hotel

Total Score

4.0Based on 241 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.0 Service : 4.1
Food : 3.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.2
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Kwon

Mr. / 60+ / South Korea

Couple

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 21 Aug 2018 Stayed 13 Aug 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Swiss, French, Italian, and German Cuisine Buffet Dinner Plan

KS

Mr. / 50-59 / Singapore

Family with Older Children

2.3
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : - Access : 1.0
Reviewed 20 Jun 2018 Stayed 12 Jun 2018 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This is the second time I've stayed at the hotel after a break of almost 4 years. Less impressed this time compared to the first time. I stayed in the same room type 4 years ago. I would suggest management look to renovate the rooms to keep them up to date.

Elisabeth

Ms. / 20-29 / United States of America

Friends

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 30 Oct 2017 Stayed 24 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [60-Day Early Bird Discount] Japanese/Western/Chinese Buffet Dinner with 50 Dishes Plan


Compared to its sister hotel Choyo Tei, I highly recommend the Resort hotel. The staff and people are better in every way, despite the available shuttle to bring you to the hotels regularly. We had a mountain view from our window and the outdoor baths are stellar. Food was standard buffet; nothing to brag about and does require some walking to the nearby attractions (recommend a car since transportation is scarce).

Bernard

Mr. / 50-59 / Singapore

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Oct 2017 Stayed 02 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room
Plan Japanese/Western/Chinese Buffet Dinner with 50 Dishes Plan


The dinner buffet is exactly the same each day, they don't vary at all.
Room size was descent compared to Japanese standard.

Virginia IP

Ms. / 50-59 / Hong Kong

Family with Older Children

3.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 16 Oct 2017 Stayed 02 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Delicious breakfast n dinner.

Nok

Ms. / 50-59 / Thailand

Friends

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 13 Oct 2017 Stayed 06 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A very busy hotel with tour group. Excellent hot spring facilities and amazing autumn view from our rooms.

Polly

Ms. / 40-49 / Australia

Couple

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Oct 2017 Stayed 02 Oct 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN 10th Anniversary Sale


We usually don't like large scale hotels that mainly cater for big tour groups but Sounkyo Onsen has very limited choices in terms of smaller accommodation. The reviews I have read are quite mixed but from our own experience this hotel turns out quite decent. Sounkyo is so small so all hotels are centrally located, the Japanese room we had is large by Japanese standard and offers mountain views, the onsuite is small but I guees most guest use the onsen so it's not an issue, buffet style dinner and breakfast are not top notch but fairly decent in terms of variety, the indoor onsen (3 separate pools) is adequate while the semi outddor rotenboro is quite small. Overall a nice place to stay.

Allycpw

Ms. / 30-39 / Malaysia

Group

3.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 04 Oct 2017 Stayed 28 Sep 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


good

Fina

Ms. / 50-59 / Spain

Couple

4.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 11 Sep 2017 Stayed 18 Aug 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


I like the Japanese food more than the Chinese or the Italian. But i understand that the most of people that goes there are chinese.

allakefak

Mr. / Under 20 / Japan

Couple

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Aug 2017 Stayed 31 Jul 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


We really enjoyed our 2 days in Sounkyo Onsen. The Choyo Resort is a nice place to stay, but a large hotel with tour groups. The room was excellent and the food good. I really enjoyed the onsen...when it was quiet. However, they should really stop allowing children in the bath area after 21:00 and allow the adults to have some time to relax in the baths. There were children running around, splashing in the baths, and crying when I went for a nighttime soak at 22:00. This is a problem at many onsen hotels/ryokan that could be easily solved. Children not allowed after a certain hour in the evening. I hope the hotel and others will take note of this.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: