Reviews of Koyasan Wakayama Souji-in - JAPANiCAN.com

Souji-in 総持院

Reviews of Souji-in

Total Score

4.3Based on 10 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.2 Service : 4.2
Food : 3.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.6
Location : 4.4 Access : 4.3

1

Zubial

Male / 40-49 / Switzerland

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 05 Jul 2016


Very good food, quite and nice place

jl.canada

Female / 20-29 / Canada

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 13 Apr 2016


Our stay at this ryokan was absolutely lovely. Koyasan is a beautiful little town, relaxing and away from the madness of the cities. The meals served at Souji-in were some of the best of my life. English spoken by a number of the hosts. Very chilly in April (bring warm clothes!) but the hot bath at the end of the day warmed us up completely. Slept so peacefully in the tatami room, very comfortable futon and super warm blanket.

Peng & Daisy

Male / 30-39 / Sweden

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Apr 2016


My wife and I had a wonderful time staying at this shukubo. It was location in Koya-san was pretty good and we reached it after a easy 5-10 minute walk from the bus stop. Although staff at the inn didn't have very good English, they spoke enough to get us checked in and introduce us to the facilities and showed us how to use the baths, etc. The room were beautifully appointed in the traditional Japanese ryokan style with tatami floors. The vegetarian kaiseki-style dinner they served us in our room was really fantastic, and the breakfast was amazing too. We also attended the morning religious service they held in the adjacent temple, which was a wonderful and unique experience for us. All in all, we really loved this place and we wished we could have stayed longer!

ajmaus

Australia

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 05 May 2013


The quality of the room, the view, the reasonably central location, and the staff at Souji-in can only be praised.

Special mention needs to be made of the amazing vegetarian dinner and breakfast brought to our room - which we rated higher than the dinner we enjoyed at a 2 Michelin star restaurant in Kyoto in the week following.

Souji-in is worth every cent!

Lloyd

Philippines

Group

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Aug 2012


The Vegetarian Course is a must-try. Though not as filling and savory as any other meal you might be used it, this is something you can't easily experience elsewhere else. And access to all the other sites are pretty convenient as well. Also, highly recommend taking a long soak in the bath.

Malaysia

Family with Young Children

4.2
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 23 Mar 2012


Good location and very nice room.

wsc

Singapore

Family with Young Children

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Jan 2012


Excellent choice in winter, has a lift, heating in room was electrical, toilet seat was heated. ice and snow outside but we were very comfortable indoors. Morning prayers not compulsory although I attended, they did not impose on visitors to do so. Beautiful temple hall, friendly abbot. Food was intricate and a large variety of vegetarian foods although it was challenging for me to adapt, being omnivorous. On our request the night before they helped us arrange a taxi for pickup already waiting for us when we checked out. Excellent!

Enlighten Me

Australia

Couple

2.8
Room : 2.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 1.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 18 Feb 2011


The room had remnants of strong fecal odor. Whilst the staff were 
friendly they knew extremely little to no English. 
Food is definitely an aquired taste, my 
husband who chugs down
food without too much of a thought had an 
extreme lack of 
appetite. 
Within Mt Koya 
location is great! In saying that I would
not recommend Mt Koya for a stop over unless
you‘re an avid 
buddhist.
The chantings/ceremony conducted were not of professional 
standard. 

I definitely would not return to this lodge.

Devon_McSchitnzel

Australia

Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 10 Jan 2011


For a Buddhist temple, it is quite luxurious. Beautiful and huge room, fantastic bath/shower/toilet facilities (love the heated toilet seat), the food and service are impressive. I'm not a big fan of vegan food, but the array of dishes and their various textures and presentations was memorable. Great service, but little English. All in all fantastic experience.

debbie

Female / 40-49 / Taiwan

Friends

3.0
Room : 2.0 Service : 2.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 22 Aug 2014

1

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: