Notice
Due to system maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable on Jun 29 (Thu) between 2:30 - 7:00 (JST). We apologize for the inconvenience.   

Reviews of Nanzenji Temple/Ginkakuji Kyoto Kikusui - JAPANiCAN.com

Kikusui 菊水

Reviews of Kikusui

Total Score

4.6Based on 32 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.3
Location : 4.7 Access : 4.3

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Fariba

Female / 40-49 / U.S.A.

Solo Traveler

4.6
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 25 May 2017 Stayed 14 May 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This ryokan is in a quiet area in Northern Higashiyama, close to a metro station and walking distances to a number of temples and popular sites. The staff was so kind and welcoming. The service was impeccable. Meals were great. The room, as expected was simple and clean and had a wonderful view of the beautiful garden they have. To note, staff had limited knowledge of English but we were able to communicate nevertheless (and Google translate helped also). Would highly recommend this ryokan.

角的

Male / 60+ / Taiwan

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Apr 2017 Stayed 05 Apr 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


There is no doubt that this ryokan is the best in Kyoto。They try their best to please their guests。Room is spacious, facing a cherry blossom elegant Japanese garden。You dine in front of the garden。Food is delicious beyond expectation。

kimj

Male / 40-49 / U.S.A.

Married Couple

4.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 28 Oct 2016 Stayed 23 Oct 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This is our first Ryokan experience. It is just wonderful. We stayed for 5nights. We enjoyed it so much, and we had a deeper understanding of the Japanese culture.
Kikusui is not in central Kyoto, it is located in the nice and quite Nanzanji temple area. They don't advertise much, but their service and food is just great.
Both breakfast and dinner are included in the stay. We had our meal in different private rooms, where we can enjoy the difference area of the garden views. We had tried their Kaiseki set dinner, Sukiyaki, Shabushabu, and Ookisuki (the seafood hot pot). The food quality and the cooking technique are superb! We just couldn't put down the chopsticks. Don't forget to book the family bath time for free, and the in room massage, it costs ¥5000 for 40 mins session. After touring the city, it will for sure relax the tiring body. Wonderful experience Overall.

khm

Male / 60+ / Germany

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 05 Oct 2015


a real kyoto ryokan with all the hospitality kyoto can offer. we would go again.

qlo

Male / Under 20 / Canada

Solo Traveler

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 12 Aug 2015


It was my first time to japan and I was lucky to spend my first night at kikusui. Located at the foot of the mountain, next door to the historic temples and gardens, kikusui has made me fall in love with the Japanese people, their culture, food and most importantly, their appreciation for nature. Sitting on the tatami overlooking the Japanese style garden evokes a sense of calmness. Being at this state of stillness allowed me to pick up thoughts and let them go with ease. It was surely a pleasure staying there!

Thierry C

Male / 40-49 / France

Family with Older Children

4.3
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 11 Aug 2015


Our best ryokan experience ! Very traditional and professional service, a very few number of rooms, amazing garden will give you all the serenity and relaxing effect you may expect from a ryokan. Dinner is one of the finest we had. nanzen-Ji and shorten in very close. I strongly recommend this hotel to experience one day in traditional ryokan.

KJ

Male / 40-49 / Sweden

Married Couple

4.7
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 Apr 2015


Everything wonderful and we were taken care of in a delightful way. Lovely view from room out to the japanese garden. Food was exquisite. Course after course came in. Very helpful staff who did their best with English. Baths separate for women and men. Location is Close to the philosohers walk which leeds to a Ginkakuji Temple. A taxi from trainstation or take the metro to the Kikusui. Not a far walk from Gion.

speedlord

Male / 20-29 / Singapore

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 07 Jan 2015


We had a great stay at this ryokan for two nights. Despite the staffs speaking minimum English, it was easy to make requests using hand gestures. Breakfast and dinner was served Kaiseki style with the staffs ushering you to different rooms facing the picturesque Zen garden. This ryokan is easily accessible via the subway from Kyoto Station, drop off at Keage Station - walk past Westin - cross the junction - walk towards Nanzenji and Kikusui is up the slopes along the road. There are numerous sightseeing spots within walking distances. Be sure to check the Philosopher's Path.

Thailand

Family with Young Children

3.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 3.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 26 Apr 2013


Our room for 4 was huge and beautiful with great view of their wonderful garden. Too bad the toilet had bad smell. Their Kaiseki was excellent and impressive. Some staffs were nice but most kept their distant. May be to avoid speak English with us. It's near Nanzenji temple, thus Philosophy's path but not much else around. Still, it is a beautiful surrounding. All in all our stay here is a wonderful experience and it will be cherished always.

Chung

Female / 40-49 / Taiwan

Family with Older Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 05 Mar 2017 Stayed 01 Mar 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


非常棒的服務與餐點,住宿設施雖簡單卻乾淨,但無與倫比的貼心服務,是喜歡靜謐與日式庭院享受最棒的選擇,謝謝女將的貼心用心款待,母親與姐姐都度過很棒的假期,會再度光臨的選擇。

Next 10

1 2 3 4

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: