Japan Hotel, Ryokan, and Tour Booking Made Easy
Theme
  • Area
  •  

Reviews of Karasuma/Shijo-Kawaramachi Kyoto Hiiragiya Ryokan - JAPANiCAN.com

Hiiragiya Ryokan 柊家旅館

Reviews of Hiiragiya Ryokan

Total Score

4.8Based on 46 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.7
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Eli

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Dec 2015 Stayed 08 Dec 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A truly wonderful and memorable place

LiLady60

Female / 60+ / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Nov 2015 Stayed 01 Nov 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Perfection thy name is Hiiragiya. As soon as you walk through the door, you will know that you have arrived at someplace special.

We arrived, soaked in the tub, ate a phenomenal kaiseki dinner, slept on our tatami mats, and ate breakfast. It is hard to explain how magical the entire experience was. It was truly the highlight of our trip to Japan.

TNyst

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Oct 2015 Stayed 09 Oct 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We felt extremely welcome at Hiiragiya. the staff was very gracious and extremely attentive. our room was very nice and relaxing. We were new to traditional Kaiseki Japanese cuisine, but it was all very delicious and the presentation was amazing. It was great to have the menus presented to us in English of what we were eating!

Kevin W

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2015 Stayed 14 Sep 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Local Wine Plan


My wife and I absolutely loved it. We would recommend it to anyone who is in Kyoto and wants to experience a ryokan.

gtravel

Female / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Aug 2015 Stayed 20 Jul 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Hiiragiya Ryokan exceeded our expectations. The welcome was amazing. The woman who was our personal concierge could not have made us feel more welcome or at ease. The food was amazing and dinner was one of the best meals of our lives. Most incredible of all was the 91 year old owner's warm wishes for our marriage (we were on our honeymoon) and she personally saw us to the door when we checked out. We hope to be able to return soon!!!

fabrice France

Male / 40-49 / France

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 May 2015 Stayed 26 Apr 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


Absolutely Perfect !!

Frederic

Male / 50-59 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 Mar 2015 Stayed 22 Mar 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan In-room Dinner & Breakfast Plan


This place is amazing, one of the most beautiful place that I have ever seen.
the best way to have a real view of the japanese spirit and tradition.

Alexc

Male / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Mar 2015 Stayed 11 Mar 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


phenomenal experience taking you back in history. Trully amazing and welcoming service. A must!

Jesse

Male / 30-39 / Canada

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Nov 2014 Stayed 29 Oct 2014 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Wonderful traditional Inn. Service was fantastic and caring and extremely professional and proficient. Will miss our room attendant. She was extremely punctual, kind, professional and caring.

Sarah&michael

Female / 30-39 / Australia

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 17 Aug 2014 Stayed 06 Aug 2014 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A beautiful and very welcoming guesthouse. Our hosts were absolutely lovely- great service and spectacular food. The best thing was the small touches- like when we left for the day sightseeing they handed us a bag with frozen water and hand towels - very thoughtful. And very appreciated.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

*All foreign currencies displayed are provided as a general reference only. Actual transactions will be carried out in Japanese Yen (JPY).

Top currencies:

All currencies: