Japan Hotel, Ryokan, and Tour Booking Made Easy
Theme
  • Area
  •  

Reviews of Karasuma/Shijo-Kawaramachi Kyoto Hiiragiya Ryokan - JAPANiCAN.com

Hiiragiya Ryokan 柊家旅館

Reviews of Hiiragiya Ryokan

Total Score

4.8Based on 57 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.9 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.7
Location : 4.9 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

CC

Male / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Apr 2016 Stayed 06 Apr 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Service is impeccable. The staff knows the details of each guest and their plans and preference. Tea served every time we were waiting. Muddy shoes after the rain were cleaned before handed back to us to wear.

FRED

Male / 40-49 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Apr 2016 Stayed 29 Mar 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


amazing, all is very well done , welcoming, room, bath ... you have to travel in another word , at another period of time (200 years before)

Ardie

Male / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Mar 2016 Stayed 22 Mar 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Amazing hospitality, great service, wonderful food. Had the deepest night of sleep after a hot spring bath.

Eli

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Dec 2015 Stayed 08 Dec 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A truly wonderful and memorable place

LiLady60

Female / 60+ / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Nov 2015 Stayed 01 Nov 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Perfection thy name is Hiiragiya. As soon as you walk through the door, you will know that you have arrived at someplace special.

We arrived, soaked in the tub, ate a phenomenal kaiseki dinner, slept on our tatami mats, and ate breakfast. It is hard to explain how magical the entire experience was. It was truly the highlight of our trip to Japan.

TNyst

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Oct 2015 Stayed 09 Oct 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We felt extremely welcome at Hiiragiya. the staff was very gracious and extremely attentive. our room was very nice and relaxing. We were new to traditional Kaiseki Japanese cuisine, but it was all very delicious and the presentation was amazing. It was great to have the menus presented to us in English of what we were eating!

Kevin W

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2015 Stayed 14 Sep 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Local Wine Plan


My wife and I absolutely loved it. We would recommend it to anyone who is in Kyoto and wants to experience a ryokan.

gtravel

Female / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 26 Aug 2015 Stayed 20 Jul 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Hiiragiya Ryokan exceeded our expectations. The welcome was amazing. The woman who was our personal concierge could not have made us feel more welcome or at ease. The food was amazing and dinner was one of the best meals of our lives. Most incredible of all was the 91 year old owner's warm wishes for our marriage (we were on our honeymoon) and she personally saw us to the door when we checked out. We hope to be able to return soon!!!

fabrice France

Male / 40-49 / France

Friends

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 May 2015 Stayed 26 Apr 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


Absolutely Perfect !!

Frederic

Male / 50-59 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 31 Mar 2015 Stayed 22 Mar 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan In-room Dinner & Breakfast Plan


This place is amazing, one of the most beautiful place that I have ever seen.
the best way to have a real view of the japanese spirit and tradition.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: