Japan Hotel, Ryokan, and Tour Booking Made Easy
News! Due to system maintenance, JAPANiCAN.com and services will be unavailable for booking on 8/25(Thu) from 02:00am until 7:00am (Japan Time). We apologize for the inconvenience.
Theme
  • Area
  •  

Reviews of Karasuma/Shijo-Kawaramachi Kyoto Hiiragiya Ryokan - JAPANiCAN.com

Hiiragiya Ryokan 柊家旅館

Reviews of Hiiragiya Ryokan

Total Score

4.8Based on 62 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.9 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.7
Location : 4.9 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

aquatata

Female / 30-39 / China

Family with Young Children

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Aug 2016 Stayed 19 Jul 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Japanese-style Room(Recommended)


The service is fantastic. When we arrived, the staff can call our name and very warm welcome us and the check-in process is quite smooth. The bath experience is traditional and has own privacy. We took the one year old baby, even she was enjoyed the stay. They prepared the relevant baby stuff in the room and made us feel very considerate and welcomed. The food was definite amazing, the display is outstanding. The lady owner greeted us formally when we were going to start the dinner at our room. The staff can speak well English. The location is convenient. Unique and nice stay and we would love to choose Hiiragiya if we will visit Kyoto again.

ella

Female / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 Jul 2016 Stayed 22 Jul 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan In-Room Dining & Kyoto Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


Very good food and offering hospitality services.a very tranditional building in the heart of kyoto.

working ox

Female / Under 20 / Hong Kong

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Jul 2016 Stayed 14 Jul 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


These are the words of my 9 year old son who thoroughly enjoyed his stay: the bath was relaxing, the service was excellent and the food exquisite; the room we stayed took us back in time. I was skeptical of the hype but this was such a memorable stay and my son has asked me to book Hirragiya again for our next holiday.

CC

Male / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Apr 2016 Stayed 06 Apr 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Service is impeccable. The staff knows the details of each guest and their plans and preference. Tea served every time we were waiting. Muddy shoes after the rain were cleaned before handed back to us to wear.

FRED

Male / 40-49 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Apr 2016 Stayed 29 Mar 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


amazing, all is very well done , welcoming, room, bath ... you have to travel in another word , at another period of time (200 years before)

Ardie

Male / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Mar 2016 Stayed 22 Mar 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Amazing hospitality, great service, wonderful food. Had the deepest night of sleep after a hot spring bath.

Eli

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Dec 2015 Stayed 08 Dec 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A truly wonderful and memorable place

LiLady60

Female / 60+ / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 11 Nov 2015 Stayed 01 Nov 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Perfection thy name is Hiiragiya. As soon as you walk through the door, you will know that you have arrived at someplace special.

We arrived, soaked in the tub, ate a phenomenal kaiseki dinner, slept on our tatami mats, and ate breakfast. It is hard to explain how magical the entire experience was. It was truly the highlight of our trip to Japan.

TNyst

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Married Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 15 Oct 2015 Stayed 09 Oct 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


We felt extremely welcome at Hiiragiya. the staff was very gracious and extremely attentive. our room was very nice and relaxing. We were new to traditional Kaiseki Japanese cuisine, but it was all very delicious and the presentation was amazing. It was great to have the menus presented to us in English of what we were eating!

Kevin W

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2015 Stayed 14 Sep 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Local Wine Plan


My wife and I absolutely loved it. We would recommend it to anyone who is in Kyoto and wants to experience a ryokan.

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: