Reviews of Karasuma/Shijo-Kawaramachi Kyoto Hiiragiya Ryokan - JAPANiCAN.com

Hiiragiya Ryokan 柊家旅館

Reviews of Hiiragiya Ryokan

Total Score

4.8Based on 69 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 4.8 Service : 4.9
Food : 4.8 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.7
Location : 4.8 Access : 4.8

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Pol

Male / 20-29 / Hong Kong

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 14 Feb 2017 Stayed 12 Feb 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan [In-Room Dining] Kyoto Kaiseki Course Dinner Plan


One of our most wonderful stay, ever. Can't describe how the room ( new wing ) was amazing. The private bath, the extraordinary futon and the prettiest/zennest balcony made it all. The service was simply perfect and the food authentically breathtaking

Rich

Male / 50-59 / U.S.A.

Couple

3.5
Room : 3.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 2.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : - Access : -
Reviewed 27 Dec 2016 Stayed 25 Dec 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Twin room


I must say, I was somewhat disappointed. The ryokan was highly recommended to me by people I knew (a work colleague, also by my sister) and was well-reviewed. But I didn't think it lived up to the billing. The kaiseki meals in the room were not spectacular at all. It also bothered me somewhat that the hotel seemed to lack common areas & outdoor space which my wife and I could use. (I think the ground floor rooms have gardens, but there is no common garden available to upper floor rooms.) My room was ostensibly in the "new wing" but it looked tired, like it was in need of a redo. (I recognize that ryokan should probably look a little old fashioned, but there were things that showed simple disrepair, such as electrical outlets being put in wall holes that were incorrectly sized.) It just seemed over-priced for such a limited experience. Maybe others have had better experiences, so I could be an outlier.

teatew

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2016 Stayed 14 Dec 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


What a wonderful way to spend an evening (or multiple) in Kyoto - away from the hustle and bustle of Gion. Tucked in a residential district off of a tiny street, quiet and quaint. From check in all the way through the bed making at the end of the night, everyone there makes you feel part of the family and the place feels like home away from home. Old school charm and a load of history behind every room. Check it out if your budget allows!

aquatata

Female / 30-39 / China

Family with Young Children

4.8
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Aug 2016 Stayed 19 Jul 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan Japanese-style Room(Recommended)


The service is fantastic. When we arrived, the staff can call our name and very warm welcome us and the check-in process is quite smooth. The bath experience is traditional and has own privacy. We took the one year old baby, even she was enjoyed the stay. They prepared the relevant baby stuff in the room and made us feel very considerate and welcomed. The food was definite amazing, the display is outstanding. The lady owner greeted us formally when we were going to start the dinner at our room. The staff can speak well English. The location is convenient. Unique and nice stay and we would love to choose Hiiragiya if we will visit Kyoto again.

ella

Female / 40-49 / Hong Kong

Family with Young Children

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 29 Jul 2016 Stayed 22 Jul 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan In-Room Dining & Kyoto Kaiseki Course Meal Plan


Very good food and offering hospitality services.a very tranditional building in the heart of kyoto.

working ox

Female / Under 20 / Hong Kong

Family with Young Children

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 18 Jul 2016 Stayed 14 Jul 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


These are the words of my 9 year old son who thoroughly enjoyed his stay: the bath was relaxing, the service was excellent and the food exquisite; the room we stayed took us back in time. I was skeptical of the hype but this was such a memorable stay and my son has asked me to book Hirragiya again for our next holiday.

CC

Male / 30-39 / Singapore

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : -
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 09 Apr 2016 Stayed 06 Apr 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Service is impeccable. The staff knows the details of each guest and their plans and preference. Tea served every time we were waiting. Muddy shoes after the rain were cleaned before handed back to us to wear.

FRED

Male / 40-49 / France

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : - Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 03 Apr 2016 Stayed 29 Mar 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


amazing, all is very well done , welcoming, room, bath ... you have to travel in another word , at another period of time (200 years before)

Ardie

Male / 40-49 / United Kingdom

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 27 Mar 2016 Stayed 22 Mar 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


Amazing hospitality, great service, wonderful food. Had the deepest night of sleep after a hot spring bath.

Eli

Male / 30-39 / U.S.A.

Couple

5.0
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 16 Dec 2015 Stayed 08 Dec 2015 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


A truly wonderful and memorable place

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: