Reviews of Hakkoda Aomori Sukayu Onsen Ryokan - JAPANiCAN.com

Sukayu Onsen Ryokan 酸ケ湯温泉旅館

Reviews of Sukayu Onsen Ryokan

Total Score

4.2Based on 50 reviews

These reviews are written by JAPANiCAN.com customers after their stays.

Score breakdown

Room : 3.8 Service : 4.3
Food : 4.2 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.5
Location : 4.3 Access : 3.9

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Alex&B

Male / 40-49 / Japan

Couple

4.5
Room : 5.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 20 Aug 2017 Stayed 15 Aug 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room

Chiman Chan

Female / 30-39 / Hong Kong

Couple

3.5
Room : 4.0 Service : 3.0
Food : 3.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 3.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 16 Jul 2017 Stayed 13 Jul 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room
Plan JAPANiCAN Special Price Plan


The room is bigger than I thought. It was an experience to try mixed bath in the ryokan with such long history. It would be great if they also have ourdoor pool. There is free shuttle service from/to ryokan as well as JR bus connecting with Aomori station and other destinations along the gorge.

lebuttercup

Female / 40-49 / U.S.A.

Married Couple

4.2
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 24 Jan 2017 Stayed 05 Jan 2017 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


One of the most traditional & memorable onsen experience i've had so far in Japan, and and i've been to several ryokans. the food is fair, nothing to write home about. there's a big hall for breakfast buffet, and dinner is better served individually. it's a bit cold in the hallways in the winter, and i wish they had a lounge to hang out when you're snowed in, and don' t want to be in your room all day. the facility is well served to the Japanese living there, so it's the real deal, no whistles or bells, but perfect if you're looking for a peaceful secluded sanctuary for peace & quiet.

G K

Female / 40-49 / Singapore

Friends

3.7
Room : 3.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 2.0
Reviewed 20 Dec 2016 Stayed 10 Dec 2016 Meals 2meals per night (dinner, breakfast)
Room Type Japanese-style room


This is a rather isolated onsen in Aomori. There is a free shuttle that takes you from Aomori city to Sukayu Onsen twice a day. I was there only recently in winter and it was snowing heavily. The scenery is beautiful and quiet. Definitely a great getaway from city life.

Chris

Male / Under 20 / Japan

Friends

4.0
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 4.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 18 Jul 2016


This ryokan was in a good location - surrounded by beautiful scenery. Close to Lake Towada and Mt. Hakkoda. The onsen in this ryokan was amazing - it was very large and mixed gendered. The service was excellent and the food delicious (but traditional styled!).

stuart & cherie

Male / Under 20 / Australia

Married Couple

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 5.0
Reviewed 24 Dec 2015


sukayu is a large & grand rambling hotel; full of charm & the kind hospitality of an older time. the onsen is unique. nestled on the side of the Hakkoda mountains, there are many striking trails to hike. being blanketed in thick soft snow completed a picturesque scene that certainly leaves us wanting to return

Traveller

Male / 50-59 / Singapore

Friends

4.3
Room : 4.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 4.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 02 Oct 2015


I stayed here because of climbing of Mt Hakkoda. Took a cable car and hiked all the way down to the onsen. The hike is excellent. The onsen is traditional setting, onsen bath is big, service is good. Food is reasonable. Access is easy, either take a JR bus from Aomori (about 1 hr) or take the complimentary hotel shuttle service.

Lim

Female / 40-49 / Singapore

Couple

3.5
Room : 2.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 3.0 Access : 3.0
Reviewed 09 Sep 2015


Authentic onsen with very good sulphuric water. Good service but no English speaking staff. The rooms are noisy because its common toilet with people walking pass often. Rooms are only separated by a cupboard wall so I can hear the tv next door switched on the whole night. Not good for light sleepers.

allakefak

Male / Under 20 / Japan

Couple

4.0
Room : 2.0 Service : 4.0
Food : 4.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 31 Aug 2015


A truly amazing onsen experience. That is a classic bathhouse and should be experienced by anyone who loves onsen. There is incredible hiking in the area with trailheads starting from both sides of the property. Just know this is an old building and the rooms are simple. But, it is worth staying the night, as the onsen is open 24 hours and you get to experience it when the tour buses are gone.

PJ

Male / Under 20 / Singapore

Couple

4.8
Room : 5.0 Service : 5.0
Food : 5.0 Hot Springs/Baths : 5.0
Location : 5.0 Access : 4.0
Reviewed 22 Mar 2015


There were many excellent services when my girlfriend and I were staying there in early March 2015 but below are two outstanding ones:
1. We were looking for a spot to snowshoe and approached the front desk for information. When they found out two of us were going to do so without a guide, they showed great concern. Ono-san (looks like he is a department head) offered his service. He was an amazing guy. Not only did he bring us to some scenic spots, he taught us about the flora and fauna in and around the ryokan.
2. After the snowshoe tour, my shoes got wet but that did not bother me. When one of the front office staff noticed the wet shoes, she actually took them to their back of house to dry them. The next day my shoes were totally dry!
Amazing service!

Next 10

1 2 3 4 5

Page Top

The amount displayed is calculated in JPY at the current exchange rate.
Please be aware that an administration fee is incurred if you require that payment
be made in a different currency.

Top currencies:

All currencies: